How Much Is A Schengen Visa For France

If you’ve already planned your trip with France as your destination, then the next thing to consider is whether you need a Schengen visa for France or not. After all, it would be pretty awkward if you arrived in Paris only to find out that your passport is no longer valid because it has been removed from the list of countries whose citizens don’t require this type of visa. That’s why I am going to give you answers to three important questions: How much does a Schengen visa cost? Is it difficult to obtain this type of visa? And which documents do I need in order to apply for one?If you are a citizen of a country outside the Schengen zone, you will be required to obtain a visa to enter France. The French consulate will tell you that the visa is free of charge, but there are actually costs that must be taken into consideration when determining how much is a visa for France.

How Much Is A Schengen Visa For France

When applying for a Schengen Visa, the Embassy or Consulate that you plan to apply at needs to know why. That is of course if you’re trying to apply for a visa to visit several European countries for something other than tourism. If you have plans to visit several cities in another European country for business, pleasure and tourism then in most cases the reason for traveling has to do with tourism.To travel to France, you need to have a valid Schengen Visa. It is issued by the French Embassy or Consulate that has jurisdiction over your place of residence. In this article I want to share with you my experience applying for a visa and tips about how to successfully apply for it.

Schengen Visa Fees

When applying for a Schengen visa there is a non-refundable mandatory visa fee every applicant must pay.

The Schengen visa costs vary depending on the type of visa and age of the applicant as well as some other exceptions stated below in the text. The Schengen visa fee can be paid in the designated consulate/embassy via cash, debit or credit card. However, some consulates may not allow you to pay by credit card.

The Schengen visa application costs include the visa fees payable at the corresponding embassy/consulate when applying.

Schengen Visa CategoryFee in EURFee in USD*
Children between 6-12 years of age40€48$
Children younger than 6 years of ageFreeFree
Holders of diplomatic, official or service passports travelling for official purposesFreeFree
family member of an EU/EEA nationalFreeFree
Pupils, students and accompanying teachers during a school tripFreeFree
Researchers travelling to perform scientific researchFreeFree
Nationals from Armenia, Azerbaijan and Russia.35€42$

* The applicable visa fee in USD (US Dollar) is as per the current exchange rate. It is subject to change without notice.

Despite the fact that these fees are static and unchangeable until the Schengen members decide otherwise altogether, there are some categories exempt from paying this amount.

The visa fees may also be waived for participants aged 25 years or less in seminars, conferences, sports, cultural or educational events, organized by non-profit organizations. The decision will be made case by case according to the relevance of the event.

Again, in case the visa is denied there is no refund of the money paid.

France Visa Application Requirements, Fees and Guidelines

Depending on the purpose of your travel to France, there are different types of visas that will apply to the occasion.

Whether you are planning to go on a visit, study or work and reside in France permanently, you will have to apply for a different France Schengen Visa, accordingly.

You can apply for the France Visa since 1997 when France, as a Member of the European Union, also became a member state of the Schengen Area.

Monaco – a European microstate/city-state located within France – is considered part of the Schengen Area although it did not officially sign the particular documents of the agreement. Besides, no border control is performed for the Schengen countries surrounding it!

On the other hand, Andorra is another microstate located between France and Spain that performs border controls, therefore to enter it you should obtain a multi-entry Schengen visa since you should enter the Schengen Area while going or leaving Andorra.

France Entry Restrictions in Response to Coronavirus

Due to the Coronavirus outbreak, France and the rest of the EU and Schengen Area members imposed an EU-wide entry ban on third-country nationals in mid-March 2020. Entry restrictions are frequently changing based on the COVID-19 situation in other countries.

Read “Travelling to France This Winter – Current Rules and Entry Restrictions” to get the latest updates regarding France entry restrictions and other measures imposed by French authorities.

Who does and who doesn’t need a Visa to enter France?

Not every foreigner and not for every territory of France applies the same visa policy. As such, visa exemptions are greatly influenced by dissimilar factors, where the major ones are: foreigner’s nationality, the territory of France that the applicant seeks to visit, foreigner’s residence status in Schengen Area or specifically in France, the purpose of visit, as well as the duration of stay.

Speaking of France territories, the law separates them into three following parts, subject to dissimilar visa policies:

  • French European Territory
  • French Overseas Départments or Regions (DOM)
  • French Overseas Territories (TOM)

Who Needs a French Visa to Enter and Stay in French Overseas Départments or Regions?

The following foreign nationals are FREE to travel WITHOUT French Visa for short stays (up to 3 months) to Guadeloupe (and its dependencies: Saint Martin, Saint Barthélémy), French Guyana, Martinique, Réunion:

  • Schengen Area member countries,
  • Andorra,
  • Argentina,
  • Australia,
  • Bolivia,
  • Brunei,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Cyprus,
  • Canada,
  • Chile,
  • Costa Rica,
  • Croatia,
  • El Salvador,
  • Guatemala,
  • Honduras,
  • Hong-Kong (titulaires du passeport de la Région administrative spéciale seulement),
  • Ireland,
  • Japan,
  • Macao (titulaires du passeport de la Région administrative spéciale seulement),
  • Malaysia,
  • Mexico,
  • Monaco,
  • New Zealand,
  • Nicaragua,

Leave a Comment